Back on the Horse

Well you know what they say, if you fall off the horse the best thing to do is to get back on it.  So here I am back to blogging after a small hiatus.  I had initially thought that I could blog and do lots of yoga but I started working more and my daughter started sleeping less.  Rather than get discouraged or throw in the towel my yoga was to simply accept my new circumstances and work within them because sometimes this is all we can do.

My new goal is to make it to the mat 4 times a week which is still pretty lofty but as I work in the studio atmosphere and get shown time and time and time again that if I just stay for an extra hour my life will be transformed, this is what I’m trying to do.  What’s been interesting about this new-found commitment is my re-discovery of hot yoga.

Like many of us, what got me into yoga in the first place was the hot practice.  In the hot room you sweat like you’ve never sweat before and so it’s an easy gap to bridge for those of us used to hours on the treadmill and bicep curls to no end.  I eventually transitioned out of the hot practice for a few reasons, it got repetitive, I could tell it was trashing my body and as I was teaching hot yoga, I couldn’t be in 110 ALL the time.  My body was over heating.  Thus began my love affair with vinyasa.

Hot yoga however is a great practice.  For me I have been using it about once a week for a deep stretch and to warm up from winter.  It is very gratifying to sweat so hard that you can wring yourself out after, I just need to be mindful to hydrate and re-mineralize my system.

And the daughter wakes up…must go.  Moral of the story.  Try hot yoga, first timers, seasoned timers and all timers.  It’s a good time.

About Cindy Stockdale

A mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend. A medicine woman, yoga teacher, priestess, spiritual gunslinger. I seek truth, light and above all love. My walk is to help others remember who they are and no matter what, they are loved deeply, connected fully and belong to the family of all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

