“People always show you who they are, believe them.”

– Maya Angelou

I was eating rumballs and drinking tea with my friend yesterday and she shared this quote with me.  It made my whole body stop with its utter brilliance, but who would expect anything less from Maya Angelou.  If you are not familiar with her, google her right now, definitely worth your time.

I love that the universe is always conspiring in your favour.  Even when the going gets tough in retrospect we can always look back and go “ohhhhhh.”  I am in the place in my life where being married, working, having a baby etc.  really limits my time and has transformed my friendships.  Having a baby has really made me show up for who I really want to be, in the aftermath however there are many things that have fallen to the wayside; some of it intentional, some of it not.

What is so fascinating to me that this information came to me yesterday is that I have been trying to help another friend out, supporting her as she disentangles herself from a relationship that is no longer serving her.  The source of the pain?  Expecting the other person to be someone who they are not.

We all do this.   Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo (2004) wrote a book called “He’s just not that into you” because of how much we try to figure out what’s going on for someone else, make excuses to ourselves that we aren’t getting the response we want from them because of a, b, c…

If you simply accept the principle that ‘people always show you who they are, believe them,’ this can be transformational.  If you take a moment to really consider that statement and let it sink to the bottom of your being, it resonates deep.

So yesterday I was talking to my classes about this quote because I found it so profound,  usually the simplest things are.  What I started to consider was what is it that we put forth, what is it that we show others?  Moving from what I was talking about last week, hiding, we can only hide up and to a point, the energy of who we really are is always shining through.  The question then that follows is this, are you shining as bright as your fullest potential?

About Cindy Stockdale

A mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend. A medicine woman, yoga teacher, priestess, spiritual gunslinger. I seek truth, light and above all love. My walk is to help others remember who they are and no matter what, they are loved deeply, connected fully and belong to the family of all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “People always show you who they are, believe them.”

  1. Rachel Noel says:

    I really love this quote as well. A funny factoid: I believe it was originally quoted from an interview she did with Oprah.

Leave a Reply

