The Journey

So trying to do yoga everyday with a 1-year-old is proving too much for this working mother.  I need to recommit but to something a bit more palatable.  Difficult for me to admit but important not to drive myself into the ground trying to do more yoga, talk about missing the point.

So I will just do my best, stay honest with myself, stay honest with you reader and still be doing my spiritual work with you. 

So in the spirit of that…this is what I have been reading in my classes this week. Its one of my very favorite poems.  One of my teachers, Christine Selda has taught me to listen to poetry with my body so that I can extract the medicine for my spirit.  This is what I encourage you to do too.

The Journey

One day you finally knew

what you had to do, and began,

though the voices around you

kept shouting their bad advice–

though the whole house began to tremble

and you felt the old tug

at your ankles.

“Mend my life!”

each voice cried. 

But you didn’t stop. 

You knew what you had to do,

though the wind pried

with it stiff fingers

at the very foundations,

though their melancholy

was terrible.  It was already late

enough and a wild night,

and the road full of fallen

branches and stones. 

But little by little,

as you left their voices behind,

the stars began to burn

through the sheets of clouds,

and there was a new voice

which you slowly recognized as your own,

that kept you company

as you strode deeper and deeper

into the world,

determined to do

the only thing you could do,

determined to save

the only life you could save.

Mary Oliver

Mary Oliver, I thank you for such an apt description of what was for me, a “watershed” moment in my life.  Where I decided to leave the tribe that I had grown up in and carve my way through the wilderness of life.  This is something my family still struggles with and yet I still walk deeper and deeper.

This path of yoga, spiritual discovery or whatever you want to call it is not for the faint of heart.  It requires incredible courage, to move against the grain of society, to take fearless inventory of who you are and work on how you can live more ‘cleanly.’  So I thank you reader for being on this journey with me.  Even if it doesn’t look like asana every day for me, I will still continue to move deeper through movement, mediation and teaching.

Until tomorrow…

Love and light

Cindy

About Cindy Stockdale

A mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend. A medicine woman, yoga teacher, priestess, spiritual gunslinger. I seek truth, light and above all love. My walk is to help others remember who they are and no matter what, they are loved deeply, connected fully and belong to the family of all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Journey

  1. Searching for the Light says:

    Love that poem by Mary Oliver; thank you for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

