Nov 1st: The day of new beginnings…

Well I have to admit I got totally derailed by illness in my desire to practice yoga everyday.  I’m back on track though and willing to give it another shot.

Today marks day 364 in my daughter’s life here on earth.  Tomorrow she will be one.  I have been thinking so much about the past year and how quickly it went, how sad I am that its gone and how delighted I am that she is blooming.

It makes me realize the need to be present is a different way.  I was thinking that if you lived to be 100, you would only have 100 Nov firsts in your life or June 26ths or whichever day you choose.  When you begin to look at life in this way, you realize that there aren’t in fact that many days.  This isn’t negative to me, it is rather a call to action to show up in your life in a different way.  Tomorrow will be the only time that Baby B and I will get to share her first birthday.  It will never happen again and so with that I’m excited.

I remember thinking this way when I was climbing Kilimanjaro.  Each step I took I reminded myself that I would never take that step again in my life so no matter how physically challenging it was, to enjoy it fully. 

This holds deep meaning for me as I often get lost in fatigue.  My days dissolve into things to do, naps I dream of taking and working on getting it all right.  It reminds me to step back, leave the cleaning, leave the need to be in control and instead experience the joy of each breath because we only have a finite number and we better use them wisely. 

So here I rededicate to living more fully in each moment, committing to savour each detail because it holds such beauty rather than being lost in the things I feel I’m not achieving.  I want to look back on my life and say that I played hard and then played harder, that I lived full of joy and laughter and embraced all things that crossed my path, the good, the bad and the downright ugly.  In this way I too hope to bloom, just as my daughter is, into the best person I can be right here, right now.

About Cindy Stockdale

A mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend. A medicine woman, yoga teacher, priestess, spiritual gunslinger. I seek truth, light and above all love. My walk is to help others remember who they are and no matter what, they are loved deeply, connected fully and belong to the family of all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nov 1st: The day of new beginnings…

  1. Elisabeth says:

    How beautiful, Cindy! You inspire us to do the same… to live each moment fully and to be all that we can be in the present, just like your beautiful baby girl!!! Happy Birth-Day to you both!

Leave a Reply

