The Goldilocks Initiative

The goldilocks initiative is the sum of what 60 days of yoga has done for me.  The goldilocks initiative is my way of describing what we should be doing in our poses and ultimately in life.  Its how you arrive at the asana and tweak it out on the micro movement level until it fits just right.  This isn’t the search for perfection.  Perfection is an ego concept and is better left off the mat.  For me, this is about optimization.  It’s about moving the body in such a delicate way that you fine tune your awareness and can move yourself to the fullest extent of delight.

It has been hard for me to get to the computer and so my challenge for the third month will be to write everyday.  Even if its five sentences to describe what happened on the mat.  The reality is that this happens all the time when we start something…whatever it is…it goes well and then we lose momentum.  So in keeping my momentum I’m going to write more. 

One of the great things that has happened to me is that my practice has become much more effective.  That in taking the time in each pose to explore my boundaries, I have been able to open myself up to something greater and deeper without necessarily pushing the pose any further.  This has been a gift.  So thank you for holding me accountable and students who have to hear all this in class, thanks for hashing it out with me on the mat.  Here’s to the last Friday of August in 2011.  May it be beautiful and bright.

About Cindy Stockdale

A mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend. A medicine woman, yoga teacher, priestess, spiritual gunslinger. I seek truth, light and above all love. My walk is to help others remember who they are and no matter what, they are loved deeply, connected fully and belong to the family of all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

