Sunday, the day of fresh starts and new beginnings

I am always shocked by what a good sleep can do for the emotional body.  Last night baby and I slept for almost 12 hours with 2 wakings that were very brief.  Today I feel like an entirely different person than I have in days.  It always surprises me what a difference a good night’s sleep can make.  For me, my life is brighter and my ability to cope intensely expanded.

Its beautiful out, I am going to take my babe and dog for a walk.  I know I said that I would be going to a studio this weekend to practice but my husband went away so I have to leave that challenge for next weekend.  My first challenge, which was to get back to my asana practice has proven itself ‘easy’ and I mean easy in the sense that once I created the commitment to get to the mat and saw the benefit it was giving me, its now easy to leave the dishes, the floors unwashed and take care of myself first.

I had originially intended when I started writing to examine “Meditations from the Mat: Daily reflections on the path of yoga ” ( 2002).  So I don’t have to keep referencing the authors and title, please see the first page of this blog.  I think the reason I strayed from this original intention was because I realized I had some work to do before structuring my practice more, really just getting back into the practice and feeling that without directing it.  Now that I’m there, I’m going to start working with the book more and sharing my experience.

So on Day 2 Gates and Kenison start to talk about the Yoga Sutras.  We could write a novel on what these are, what they mean etc so I’m going to do my best to be conscise here.  “The Yoga Sutras outline a plan for living that flows from action to knowledge to liberation” (Rolf and Kenison 2002, p. 4).  The path is known as an ashtanga or eight limbed path.  Rather than observing these eight limbs as rungs in a ladder, we try to look at them like spokes on a wheel. 

The first two limbs are the Yamas and Niyamas.  These are like the 10 commandments of yoga.  There are five Yamas which are personal moral restraints and five niyamas which are five moral observances.  I’ve heard these descibed as the dos (niyamas) and don’ts (yamas), I find this deliniation useful.  The Yamas are: ahimsa, satya, brahmacharya, asteya and, aparigraha.  Today we will start with ahimsa, or non-violence and go from there, stay tuned!


About Cindy Stockdale

A mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend. A medicine woman, yoga teacher, priestess, spiritual gunslinger. I seek truth, light and above all love. My walk is to help others remember who they are and no matter what, they are loved deeply, connected fully and belong to the family of all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s