A homecoming

Today was like a homecoming.  My babe was down and I unrolled my mat.  I decided to put in an old Baron Baptiste video circa 2003.  I had purchased the video many moons ago and had lent it out but never used it.  Today was the day.

This particular video was a variation of Bikram’s hot yoga series.   Its been a LONG time since I’ve done anything close to a hot series in my own practice and I was pleasantly surprised with how I felt after I was done practicing.  I felt very long, the opening of my body was very balanced; what Baron did in the video was very complete for me.  What I found so fascinating was how much the yoga that I do and that I teach has evolved from 2003.  Where I’m from there is so much Anusara influence that we are all about “the Principles,” there’s no hands together over head or feet together.  It was nice for me to practice in a way that I used to, back to my ashtanga roots.

I love ashtanga.  There isn’t a studio close to my house that teaches it so often I do the primary series on my own.  Ashtanga was my first teacher training and so when I go back to old school videos or back to primary series, it feels like a homecoming. I used to be quite devoted to the primary series and over the years have branched out.  I have evolved to be eclectic.  I know that the Yoga Sutras talk about picking a path and digging in but I feel that my ability to be eclectic gives me a deeper understanding and yet there is truth in the digging in, doing the same practice everyday although can get repetitious, there is a gift in repetition.  You get very skilled at certain postures and the body opens the same way every day.  It can be juicy.  However as I’m typing this I do realize how much the Anusara infusion into my practice, the principles of alignment that I can apply to what I already know help me align with the divine, my true self.

I am inspired to teach what I did today to my hot students on Monday and Tuesday and get feedback.  It is my students that teach me the most.  I can be on my mat learning about my own body but when I am learning with my students…we tap into something deeper together.  I feel very blessed to teach.  It’s like a silent, energetic conversation that’s very intimate and expansive.  We sweat together, work hard together and most importantly heal together so I thank you deeply for that gift, because it is that, a gift.

About Cindy Stockdale

A mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend. A medicine woman, yoga teacher, priestess, spiritual gunslinger. I seek truth, light and above all love. My walk is to help others remember who they are and no matter what, they are loved deeply, connected fully and belong to the family of all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A homecoming

  1. Brei Souza says:

    a gift it was…a freshiness, a new discovery…like falling in love!

Leave a Reply

