And it was in fact delicious

The baby was finally down and I unrolled Black Mamba.  I had no idea what to do on my mat.  I have been practicing mostly on my own and started to feel like I was running out of material.  I tried to use My Yoga Online, I really tried to sign up but no dice.  I didn’t have time to call the administrator so I started with what always gets my body going…Surya Namaskar A and B. 

Surya Namaskar translates to sun saluation.  My first devoted practice was in Ashtanga and so these cycles are what I fall back on.  I love saluting the sun, it opens all the major joints of the body, connects the breath to your movement and I find myself instantly transported to a place of peace.  Once I was warmed up I let my body guide my practice and found I was very stiff from teaching three classes yesterday.  That’s one of the things that so great about a daily morning practice, you can wake up jammed, move and free up your body and mind and really then be prepared for the day.  Of course, I do not attempt any of this without coffee.

My baby woke up before I was finished.  I had contemplated not doing my last few poses but yesterday when I didn’t do my savasana (again because said baby woke up) I could feel my body vibrating for hours.  One of my first teachers, Paul Dallaghan, stressed the importance of a good savasana to bring the body back into balance after a practice.  We are often eager to jump ship once all the hard work is done, but in doing so we forget to reap what we sow.  With that all in mind I decided that she could play while I did my wheels, headstand, shoulderstand, plough and savasana.  What amazed me was that she laid there and just watched for a good 20 minutes.  Although I normally, being a working mom, feel guilty when I’m not interacting with her when she’s awake; in this instance I realized that she could watch me do yoga.  She could watch me do yoga and in fact start to learn one of the greatest things I can teach her…the art of self-care.

About Cindy Stockdale

A mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend. A medicine woman, yoga teacher, priestess, spiritual gunslinger. I seek truth, light and above all love. My walk is to help others remember who they are and no matter what, they are loved deeply, connected fully and belong to the family of all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And it was in fact delicious

  1. Yesssssssss! Teach her the art of self-care my friend. That’s a foundation and a gift.

  2. Brei Souza says:

    yes my friend…inspiring another momma to share the greatest gift I have in my life with the most important being in my life!

Leave a Reply

