Its all gotta start somewhere

I know nothing about computers or blogging for that matter however, the idea of blogging kept coming to me.  In the spirit of doing something different (in this case taking action vs. thinking about it) I decided to take the risk and write because that’s what my heart is calling me to do.

If I sit back and consider why I would want such a public forum for my adventure instead of  the old school dear diary deal is accountability.  See, I want to commit to my yoga practice or shall I say re-commit.  I am a yoga teacher who has recently had a baby and in my desperation for a return to sanity and a fluid body, I want to rediscover my yoga practice.  Of course this is challenging because now there is a baby involved however, my real intention is to cultivate commitment and discipline which have always been a problem for me.

To start my first day of yoga off, I decided to read from “Meditations From the Mat: Daily Reflections on the Path of Yoga” by Rolf Gates and Katrina Kenison.  Good book, you should check it out if you can.  I have been teaching yoga for 6 years and I can’t believe I only just bought it.  It is partly what inspired me on the 365 day part; that I could read from the book daily and report how it played out on my mat and into my life.  So today’s reading was all about how “a spiritual practice is one that brings us full circle — not to a new self but, rather, back to the essence of our true selves.”  I loved this.  People who end up on a spiritual path are often seeking, searching, hungry for something and often we aren’t even sure what.  Is it that we are all dissatisfied and need to learn to want for less?  Is it that the soul remembers something that we don’t remember?  Gates and Kenison say that “yoga reminds us that we are already there, that we need simply awaken from our dream of separation, our dream of imperfection.”

So when my life has become unmanageable, as it has a bit, I always fall back on what’s dear to me, the yoga.  I wish that I could say that I was disciplined enough to have kept it up all this time but marriage, babies, injuries have kept me off the mat.  Regardless of this track record I am certain that for the first time in a long time I am ready to come home, to go back to a place where I remember that I’m perfect and that we are all one.

About Cindy Stockdale

A mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend. A medicine woman, yoga teacher, priestess, spiritual gunslinger. I seek truth, light and above all love. My walk is to help others remember who they are and no matter what, they are loved deeply, connected fully and belong to the family of all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Its all gotta start somewhere

  1. Jenn says:

    Cindy . This is really real and really great. I an totally relate in so many ways. I journal as well and it’ is awesome that you are putting your thoughts out in public. Keep it up. I’ll read. I have a similiat path and belief system and it’s Gretchen to do this. Keep going:)

  2. Heather says:

    Cindy,
    I honor and support you, as a reader to this blog. Loved this first entry and look forward to more! The journaling process of the 40 day revolution got me writing daily too, since it was mandatory ;)… and I now really value the reflection it invites. It is inspiring for me to read somebody else’s perspective, and I honor your courage to share!
    Namaste,
    Heather
    ~*~

Leave a Reply

